Peter S. Jensen, MD

Founder & Board Chair, The REACH Institute

Dr. Peter Jensen established the REACH Institute in May 2006, following service as Founding Director of the Center for the Advancement of Children’s Mental Health at Columbia University. Before joining Columbia as its Ruane Professor of Child Psychiatry (2000-2007), he was Associate Director of Child and Adolescent Research at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). While at NIMH (1989-2000), Dr. Jensen was the lead NIMH investigator on the landmark study of Multimodal Treatment of ADHD (“The MTA Study”), as well as investigator on other national multi-site studies.  

A world-renowned child psychiatrist, Dr. Jensen is a passionate advocate for children with emotional and behavioral disorders and their families. His major work and research interests include identifying, disseminating, and implementing evidence-based mental health treatments.

Dr. Jensen serves on many editorial and scientific advisory boards, authored more than 270 scientific articles and book chapters, and written or co-edited 20 books on children’s mental health. His many awards include the Norbert Reiger Award (1990-1996) and Irving Philips Prevention Award (2011) from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, the Agnes Purcell McGavin Award (1996) and the Blanche Ittleson Award (1998) from the American Psychiatric Association. He has also been honored by the American Psychological Association, the Association for Child Psychiatric Nursing, the National Alliance for the Mental Ill, and CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder).

Dr. Jensen received his bachelor’s degree with high honors from Brigham Young University (l974), medical degree from George Washington University Medical School (l978) (Alpha Omega Alpha), and completed his post-graduate training in psychiatry and child and adolescent psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco, and Letterman Army Medical Center.

In 2009 Dr. Jensen joined the Mayo Clinic to serve as the Co-Director of the Division of Child Psychiatry & Psychology and in July 2011, he assumed a new role in Mayo's Department of Psychiatry and Psychology as the Vice-Chair for Research. He retired from Mayo in July 2013.